5th Grade Solar Energy Experiment — Community Feedback

The fifth graders have been investigating solar energy.  Today, we conducted an experiment to learn which earth materials,  dry soil, wet soil, water, or rocks,  collect and store solar energy most efficiently.  We first placed each cup of material in the sun for 20 minutes, then moved the cups to a shady area where we recorded the temperature every 3 minutes for 21 minutes.  So…which material do you think collected and stored the most solar energy? And which material lost the most solar energy?  Leave your guesses in the comments!

Year End Talent Show Entry Form

Entries for the 2018 year-end talent show are due on Monday, May 14th. Entries can be picked up from any teacher or picked up outside Mrs. Varvel’s room.

Talent Show Entry Form

Elementary Track & Field Day Schedule

Click to view printable schedule!

Kindergarten and Preschool Roundup is TODAY!!

-Incoming Kindergarten students will join Mrs. Mintken from 3:00 PM – 4:00 PM today. A parent open house will follow. Kindergarten students need to be 5 before July 31, 2018. Kindergarten Entry Forms: Copy of Certified Birth Certificate, Copy of Social Security card, current eye exam, current Kindergarten physical and updated immunizations.

-Preschool open house will be held from 4:15 PM – 5:15 PM today. Preschool students need to be 3 before July 31, 2018. Preschool Entry Forms: Current immunizations, Copy of Certified Birth Certificate.

Mrs. Matthews Presents At NETA

At the recent NETA conference in Omaha, School Librarian, Carole Matthews, was one of seven NSLA board members participating in an IGNITE session. Mrs. Matthews’ presentation promoted Hay Springs School and how we use technology. She is finishing her term as secretary of the Nebraska School Librarian Association.

Shocking 4th Grade Experiment

Fourth grade is studying electricity. Last Wednesday, we did a fun experiment on how electric charges interact.  Shocking pictures to follow…

Work Together Wednesday

Wednesday, the 18th, during Week of the Young Child was Work Together Wednesday! We have so many opportunities to work together in our classroom and work daily on being good friends. We also use partner work during small groups so we are sharing ideas and helping each other learn.

For our Work Together Wednesday activities, the morning preschool class worked together to create friendship rainbows. Each child was in charge of a color to create a class rainbow and a rainbow for each of their friends. We also created a block town using ABC town blocks. We had to decide where our houses would go and work together to create our community. We then added people and vehicles to our community.

The afternoon class also worked together to create a block community. They were very interested in where their houses were all located and some of them even made sure they had trucks and tractors just like at their real houses! This was great mapping and fit in great with a social studies theme about community. The afternoon class also worked together to clean up our playground and around the school. We decided to reschedule our community clean up day due to the wind so this worked great as a chance to work together as a class. This was another great social studies lesson about keeping our school and community clean and safe! The afternoon class had another chance to work together as they helped me create the poster for Week of the Young Child that is hanging in the lunchroom.

Tasty Tuesday

During Week of the Young Child, Tuesday the 17th was Tasty Tuesday! On this day, both morning and afternoon preschool classes made strawberry banana smoothies. During this time, we discussed ways to prepare food safely and with an adult. We talked about washing our hands before getting started, if we needed to wash our fruit (we decided we should wash the strawberries, but the bananas would be okay because they have a peel) and what parts of the fruit we should add to the smoothie. Some children were in charge of cutting up strawberries, some were in charge of cutting up bananas, and some were in charge of the ice and yogurt we added to our smoothies. To add a little science and math, we discussed the solid fruit during into a liquid we could drink while it was in the blender and we measured our ingredients to see if we would have enough smoothie for everyone. The morning class added language arts as they wrote the letter T for Tasty. This was such a fun experience and we love being able to cook in the classroom! The afternoon class also enjoyed a tasty treat during snack time. Elly even brought us some homemade chocolate chip cookies!

We have made tasty treats in our classroom in the past and I wanted to share those pictures as well! We have made gingerbread cookies, snow ice cream, a 100 day snack, and a birthday cake. For each cooking experience we followed a recipe and each child was invited to participate. Cooking can be a great math and science activity, as well as a fine motor experience while the children pour, stir, knead, and roll.

Elders’ Wisdom 2018 Video Available

The 2018 Elders’ Wisdom honorees were Lloyd and Mary Ann Hunzeker.  You can watch the video of the program below!

Music Monday

Yesterday, April 16th, was Music Monday during Week of the Young Child. Week of the Young Child is a national week created by NAEYC (National Association for the Education of Young Children) in order to celebrate and bring recognition to early childhood programs. We try to use music in our classroom daily and are able to go to music once a week with Mrs. Varvel, but had special music activities to celebrate this day.

For Music Monday, the morning class sang their favorite song/finger play Tiny Turtle. We use this song when we are waiting and transitioning to a new activity or to out of the classroom specials. We also picked musical instruments and marched around the classroom as a parade and made our own maracas using materials that we had in our classroom.

Afternoon preschool began their Music Monday by singing along with a song about the letter N. We have found a great letter song for each letter of the alphabet that teaches us whether it is a consonant or vowel, what sound(s) it makes, and words that begin with that letter! This has been a wonderful tool when learning about each letter and the kids enjoying singing along. The kids then made either maracas or a rain stick which we played while we sang different songs and while we talked about rhythm and beat.